The executive authority of His Majesty is exercised on his behalf by the Niue Cabinet of Ministers, which comprises the Premier and three other members of the Niue Assembly. Cabinet is constitutionally responsible for exercising the general authority of Niue and has the general direction and control of the executive government of Niue.

The Premier is the leader of the government and the chair of Cabinet. He is elected by the Niue Assembly members at the Assembly’s first meeting after a general election. Election is by an absolute majority of the members present and voting at that Assembly meeting. The Premier nominates three members of the Assembly for appointment as Ministers and allocates portfolios among the members of Cabinet.

Close Search Window